William Byron wins at Darlington, Goodyear 400 results

William Byron won Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway.

Marin Truex Jr. would start the Goodyear 400 on the pole and would win the the first stage. The only caution of the stage occurred on lap 38 due to fluid being on the track.

Ross Chastain would take the lead from Truex on lap 138. Truex would catch up to him in the closing laps of the second stage but would spin out and finish the stage 10th.

Kyle Larson would be the first car off pit road following pit stops. On the restart to begin stage 3, Erik Jones would lose a tire resulting in a nine car accident which damaged Austin Cindric, Austin Dillon, Michael McDowell, Todd Gilliland, Noah Gragson, Erik Jones, Ryan Newman, Ty Gibbs, and Daniel Suarez.

With 83 laps to go Ricky Stenhouse would spin on the apron of the track as he had a flat left rear bringing out the caution.

Larson would choose to pit ahead of Chastain resulting in him being shown as the leader after pit pit stops cycled though. Christopher Bell would move up to second while Chastain found himself in third.

With 17 to go Ryan Newman would spin to bring out the sixth caution. Christopher Bell would have to give up second place due to a left front wheel being loose setting up a front row battle between Larson and Chastain. With Truex and Joey Logano in the second row. On the restart with 13 to go Truex would slide into Logano setting off a chain reaction that would see eight cars involved. Chastain would be shown as the leader. Chastain would slide up the track on the restart and into Larson. After contact Larson would continue to push Chastain as William Byron became the leader with Kevin Harvick, Harrison Burton, Justin Haley and Chase Elliott rounding out the top five.

The win is the third of the season for Byron and seventh in his career. It marked the first time Hendrick Motorsports won at Darlington since Jimmie Johnson in 2012. The win is also Hendrick Motorsports’ 296th win.

Darlington Goodyear 400 Results

  1. William Byron
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Bubba Wallace
  6. Harrison Burton
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Justin Haley
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Chris Buescher
  11. Todd Gilliland
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Christopher Bell
  15. Ryan Preece
  16. Ty Gibbs
  17. Chase Briscoe
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Austin Cindric
  20. Kyle Larson
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Tyler Reddick
  23. AJ Allmendinger
  24. Corey LaJoie
  25. Erik Jones
  26. Noah Gragson
  27. ty Dillon
  28. Ryan Newman
  29. Ross Chastain
  30. Josh Berry
  31. Martin Truex Jr.
  32. BJ McLeod
  33. Michael McDowell
  34. Daniel Suarez
  35. Austin Dillon
  36. Brennan Poole
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News