McLaughlin on pole at Nashville, IndyCar lineup for Big Machine Music City GP

Scott McLaughlin’s family will head home after this weekend but the driver of the No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet gave them one more reminder of just how talented is he scoring the pole for Sunday’s running of the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix.

McLaughlin’s best lap was a time for 1:14.555 around the 11-turn 2.1 mile street circuit. The pole came after the New Zealander led practice earlier in the day and a 90 minute delay due to weather.

“The car was phenomenal,” McLaughlin said. “We did that on one lap, used tires. One of those good laps.”

The last time McLaughlin was on a pole was the season opening event at St. Petersbugh which he won.

“Tell you what, this DEX car is really good, man,” McLaughlin said. “We’ve been going really fast in this car. Won the St. Pete opener with it. Won Mid-Ohio and now we’re pole at Nashville, which is an amazing racetrack.”

The 80 lap race which features two trips across the Korean War Veterans Memorial Bridge per lap will air on NBC and the IndyCar Radio Network at 3 pm ET. The 30 minute warmup session will take place at 10:30 am. Also scheduled for Sunday is the Indy Lights race at 1 pm.

IndyCar Nashville Street Circuit Lineup

  1. Scott McLaughling
  2. Romain Grosjean
  3. Christian Lundgaard
  4. Alex Palou
  5. Pato O’Ward
  6. Josef Newgarden
  7. David Malukas
  8. Will Power
  9. Graham Rahan
  10. Rinus VeeKay
  11. Jack Harven
  12. Dalton Kellett
  13. Simon Pagenaud
  14. Scott Dixon
  15. Felix Rosenqvust
  16. Kyle Kirkwood
  17. Alexander Rossi
  18. Marcus Ericsson
  19. Callum Ilott
  20. Takuma Sato
  21. Simona De Silvestro
  22. Conor Daly
  23. Colton Herta
  24. Helio Castroneves
  25. Devin DeFrancesco
  26. Jimmie Johnson
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News