Bubba Wallace score first pole, Michigan starting lineup

BROOKLYN, MICHIGAN – AUGUST 06: Bubba Wallace, driver of the #23 McDonald’s Toyota, ,poses for photos after winning the pole award during qualifying for the NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 06, 2022 in Brooklyn, Michigan. (Photo by Mike Mulholland/Getty Images)

Bubba Wallace scored his first career pole on Saturday putting the No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota at the front of the field for Sunday’s running of the FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway.

“About time,” Wallace said. “It took me five years to get my first pole. It’s a testament to 23XI, everybody on the No. 23 team. They’ve been doing a tremendous job all year long, really. Just haven’t had the finishes we deserve, but proud for everybody just sticking through it.

“A lot of adversity on this team, and we keep showing up ready to battle.”

The top three positions to start the race will be held by Toyota powered cars with Christopher Bell joining Wallace on the front row and Kyle Busch starting third. The first non-Toyota is fourth place starter Joey Logano.

Ryan Blaney, who won this race a year ago, will start 24th. Thus far the Penske Racing driver has not scored a win during the 2022 season and holds one of two playoff spots which as it stands would go to drivers with the highest points.

FireKeepers Casino 400 Lineup

  1. Bubba Wallace
  2. Christopher Bell
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Austin Cindric
  6. Tyler Reddick
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Erik Jones
  11. Ty Gibbs
  12. Noah Gragson
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Daniel Suarez
  16. Kevin Harvick
  17. Cole Custer
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Christopher Buescher
  20. William Byron
  21. Justin Haley
  22. Ross Chastain
  23. Chase Briscoe
  24. Ryan Blaney
  25. Ty Dillon
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. Harrison Burton
  28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  29. JJ Yeley
  30. Alex Bowman
  31. Austin Hill
  32. Corey LaJoie
  33. Brad Keselowski
  34. Cody Ware
  35. Josh Bilicki
  36. BJ McLeod
  37. Todd Gilliand
John Boarman
John Boarmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News