Indiana native Cindric wins Xfinity Series race at Brickyard, results

Austin Cindric claimed the win in Saturday’s running of the Pennzoil 150 at the Brickyard.

The win was the fifth of the season for Cindric, placing him just one behind his total for the 2020 when he won the Xfinity Series championship.

After winning the race Cindric celebrated by singing “Back Home Again in Indiana” as he took his victory lap. Cindric was scored as winning the race by 2.108 seconds ahead of second place AJ Allmendinger but the race was not even that close as the driver of the No. 22 Ford Mustang was on cruise control in the closing laps.

“Unbelievable and first of all I‘ve got to thank Roger Penske for every opportunity I‘ve had in my career and every opportunity he‘s given race fans to enjoy this beautiful facility,” Cindric said after the race.

“To win at this facility is amazing,” Cindric said, adding, “What this place means to me, I can‘t even put into words what this means.”

Cindric led 29 of the 62 laps in the race. Allmendinger was the pole sitter and won the second stage of the race. Another Indiana native in Justin Haley won the first stage of the race.

The win was the second of the day for Team Penske at IMS after IndyCar driver Will Power went to victory lane in the Big Machine Spiked Coolers Grand Prix.

Xfinity Indianapolis Road Course Results

  1. Austin Cindric
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Justin Haley
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Noah Gragson
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Myatt Snider
  8. Riley Herbst
  9. Harrison Burton
  10. Andy Lally
  11. Justin Allgaier
  12. Daniel Hemric
  13. Alex Labbe
  14. Jeremy Clements
  15. Josh Williams
  16. Kyle Weatherman
  17. Landon Cassill
  18. James Davison
  19. Ty Gibbs
  20. Jade Buford
  21. Tommy Joe Martins
  22. JJ Yeley
  23. Jeb Burton
  24. Spencer Pumpelly
  25. Josh Bilicki
  26. Sage Karam
  27. Sam Mayer
  28. Will Rodgers
  29. Austin Hill
  30. Kris Wright
  31. Brett Moffitt
  32. Ryan Sieg
  33. Kevin Harvick
  34. Brandon Brown
  35. Preston Pardus
  36. Brandon Jones
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News