Palou wins IndyCar opener at Barber, Grand Prix of Alabama results

Alex Palou won the IndyCar season opener at Barber Motorsports Park.

Pato O’Ward claimed the P1 award on Saturday for the Grand Prix of Alabama and opted to run a three stop strategy which proved to be costly as the day went on.

The first incident of the race happened almost immediately after the green flag as Josef Newgarden got loose and collected Colton Herta, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and Felix Rosenqvist. Jimmie Johnson, making his IndyCar debut, would bring out the second caution on lap 10 after he spun by himself.

While O’Ward made three stops, he found two stop cars driven by Alex Palou, Will Power, and Scott Dixon ahead of him in the closing laps of the race.

With 10 laps to go Palou held a lead just over two seconds but second place Power had 40 seconds more of push to pass. The car of Connor Daly would prove to be a thorn in the side of Palou as Power inched closer. In the end Palou remained out front to win his first race.

Jimmie Johnson, making his IndyCar debut, finished 19th on the day. The highest finishing rookie of the race was Romain Grosjean who finished 10th.

Grand Prix of Alabama Results

  1. Alex Palou
  2. Will Power
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Pato O’Ward
  5. Sebastien Bourdais
  6. Rinus VeeKay
  7. Graham Rahal
  8. Marcus Ericsson
  9. Alexander Rossi
  10. Romain Grosjean
  11. Jack Harvey
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Takuma Sato
  14. Scott McLaughlin
  15. Ed Jones
  16. Connor Daly
  17. James Hinchcliffe
  18. Dalton Kellett
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Max Chilton
  21. Felix Rosenqvist
  22. Colton Herta
  23. Josef Newgarden
  24. Ryan Hunter-Reay
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News