Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeNASCAR Cup SeriesBlaney wins Cup race at Atlanta, QuikTrip 500 results

Blaney wins Cup race at Atlanta, QuikTrip 500 results

Ryan Blaney won Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Denny Hamlin began the day on the pole thanks to NASCAR’s competition-based formula and led the field to a scheduled competition caution on lap 26. Tyler Reddick would hit the wall prior to the caution becoming the first driver to have trouble but did not bring out a caution. Chase Elliott began the day at the rear after failing pre race inspection multiple times while Kevin Harvick would have to pit a second time following the competition caution after breaking a valve stem on his initial pit stop. Harvick would lose a lap under green prior to the first stage end on gas a result on the stop while Kyle Larson would win the first stage.

On the start to stage two, Kurt Busch would get spun after the outside lane stacked up due to Kyle Busch spinning his tires. The remainder of the stage was run under green with Larson again winning the stage.

When the third stage started Chase Elliott. Lee a motor bringing out another caution. Ryan Blaney would beat Larson off pit road while Kyle Busch got a penalty for being too fast on pit road.

Inside of ten laps to go Blaney,aided by teammate Joey Logano running at the end of the lead lap in front of Larson, was able to move to the front of the field.

Blaney is the sixth different winner of the season with the win his fifth in his Cup Series career.

QuikTrip 500 Results

    Ryan Blaney
    Kyle Larson
    Alex Bowman
    Denny Hamlin
    Kyle Busch
    Austin Dillon
    Chris Buescher
    William Byron
    Martin Truex Jr.
    Kevin Harvick
    Matt DiBenedetto
    Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
    Ryan Newman
    Ross Chastain
    Joey Logano
    Bubba Wallace
    Daniel Suarez
    Cole Custer
    Michael McDowell
    Aric Almirola
    Christopher Bell
    Austin Cindric
    Chase Briscoe
    Erik Jones
    Ryan Preece
    Tyler Reddick
    Anthony Alfredo
    Brad Keselowski
    Corey LaJoie
    Justin Haley
    Cody Ware
    James Davidson
    Quin Houff
    BJ McLeod
    Joey Gase
    Timmy Hill
    Josh Bilicki
    Chase Elliott
    Kurt Busch
John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Comments Closed

Recent News