Scott Dixon wins IndyCar opener at Texas, Genesys 300 Results

AUSTIN, TEXAS – FEBRUARY 12: Scott Dixon, driver of the #9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, drives during NTT Indycar Series testing at Circuit of The Americas on February 12, 2020 in Austin, Texas. (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

The NTT IndyCar Series got underway on Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway.

A compressed day of practice, qualifying and the running of the Genesys 300 left a scramble at the start of the race for some teams to ensure they would even be able to compete. Takuma Sato, who crashed during qualifying, was unable to take the grid after his team failed to get his car ready. Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay had to serve pass though penalties to start the race following unapproved changes prior to the race.

Last year’s champion Josef Newgarden started on the pole but early in the race Scott Dixon proved he would be a threat for the first win of 2020.

A crash involving Rinus Veekay and Alex Palou happened on lap 38 bringing out the first caution of the day.

Dixon would hold the lead until a debris caution briefly giving it back to Newgarden but by the midway point of the race had already pulled over two seconds ahead of the field.

After reeling in his teammate, Felix Rosenqvist saw his chance to win the race disappear when he lost the handle on his car and hit the wall.

Dixon would hang on for the win and score a win in his 16th straight season.

Genesys 300 Results

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Simon Pagenaud
  3. Josef Newgarden
  4. Zach Veach
  5. Ed Carpetner
  6. Conor Daly
  7. Colton Herta
  8. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  9. Oliver Askew
  10. Tony Kanaan
  11. Charlie Kimball
  12. Pato O’Ward
  13. Will Power
  14. Marco Andretti
  15. Alexander Rossi
  16. Jack Harvey
  17. Graham Rahal
  18. James Hinchcliffe
  19. Marcus Ericsson
  20. Felix Rosenqvist
  21. Santino Ferrucci
  22. Rinus VeeKay
  23. Alex Palou
  24. Takuma Sato
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News