Jimmie Johnson to present Ricky Johnson for induction into MHFA

(http://www.mshf.com | DETROIT August 2, 2012)

The list of motorsports stars set to take part in this year’s inductees into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, Wednesday, August 29, is as accomplished as the Class of 2012 itself with champion driver Jimmie Johnson, Hall of Famers Don “The Snake” Prudhomme and Bobby Allison scheduled to be among the inductee presenters at the black-tie event at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Johnson will present AMA Supercross and Motocross legend Ricky Johnson for induction in the Motorcycle category. Although unrelated, the two were competitors and remain close friends today from their youthful California off-road racing days that launched both to stardom.

Hall of Famer and NASCAR icon Allison (Class of 1992) will present for the second-consecutive year after having the honor of inducting his brother Donnie Allison in 2011. This year, Bobby Allison will enshrine fellow “Alabama Gang” member, the late Neil Bonnett, into the Hall’s stock car wing. Bonnett was one of the most affable drivers in NASCAR history, earning 18 series victories during his 18-year career.

Additional NASCAR legends scheduled to present include Leonard Wood, a Hall member enshrined with his brother Glen Wood in 2000 as the leaders of the famous Wood Brothers racing team and pit crew. Leonard Wood will induct the late Vic Edelbrock, Sr. in the At Large category. Edelbrock was considered one of the founders of the American hot rod movement and built a small auto repair shop into one of the world’s premier parts suppliers for racers and auto hobbyists.

nductee <strong>Derek Bell</strong> will have the honor of being presented to the Hall by his son and fellow Sports Car World Champion <strong>Justin Bell</strong>, who is also well known today as a television reporter on SPEED and host of the World’s Fastest Car Show on eBay Motors and eBay Mobile. Derek Bell earned his way into the Hall’s Sports Car wing on the strength of an amazing career that included five wins at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and three overall victories in the Rolex 24 At Daytona in 1986, 1987 and 1989.

<strong>Pop Dreyer</strong> will be enshrined in the Historic category by <strong>Dennis Reinbold</strong>, co-owner of the Dreyer-Reinbold IndyCar team that keeps the Dreyer legend alive today. Dreyer’s first name was Floyd but he was known as “Pop” and one of the most resilient motorcycle competitors of all time.  He also made his mark in auto racing as a Midget and Sprint Car builder who competed on dirt as well as on the famed board speedways of the teens and early 1920s.

The Class of 2012 also includes former Indy Car Champion and Indianapolis 500 winner <strong>Danny Sullivan</strong> who will have his presenter named in the coming days.  Sullivan is best known for his Indy Car accomplishments but also raced in Formula 1, Can-Am and sports cars.  His 17th and final Indy Car win came in 1993 on the Belle Isle road course, located just a few miles from the Fillmore in the heart of downtown Detroit.

Tickets for the 24th annual Motorsports Hall of Fame induction ceremony, Wednesday, August 29, can be purchased by calling 248-349-RACE (7223) or at www.mshf.com.

The evening’s emcee will be former driver David Hobbs who is also now a popular reporter and host on SPEED and a 2009-inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in the Sports Car category.

The Motorsports Museum &amp; Hall of Fame is operated by the Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.

Recent News