Wil Myers and Jose Fernandez earn MLB Rookie of the Year honors

getty images

getty images

Wil Myers and Jose Fernandez took home rookie of the year honors in the American and National League respectfully.

In the American League Wil Myers became the first player to ever win the award while playing in less then 100 games. Still 23 of 30 voters picked him as their first choice in the American League and he easily outpaced second place Jose Iglesias. Myers finished his first season with a .293/.354/.478 line with 13 home runs. He will be a big part of the Tampa Bay Rays going forward.

The voting in the National League was also a run away with Jose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins picking up 26 of the 30 first-place votes. Yasiel Puig of the Los Angeles Dodgers netted the other four votes but the award was rightly earned by Fernandez who compiled a 2.19 ERA and 187 strikeouts over 172 2/3 innings of work.

Sign Up For Our E-mail List

  • MLB Stories Delivered To Your Mailbox
  • Trending News from NFL, NASCAR, WWE & More
  • Easy Access to Return to Our Site

Get e-mails from Tireball Sports now!