David Price and R.A. Dickey win Cy Young Awards

Baseball’s Cy Young Award winners have been announced.

American League: David Price (Tampa Bay)

David Price finished 2012 with a 20-5 record, 2.56 ERA, and 205 strikeouts, leading the AL in the first two categories, and finishing 6th in the last. He topped last years winner Justin Verlander by 4 points, Jered Weaver of the Los Angeles Angels finished third in the voting.

National League: R.A. Dickey (New York)

R.A. Dickey was a surprising 20-6, with a 2.73 ERA this year. His 230 strike outs led the NL. Other categories in which he led the league include starts (33), complete games (5), shutouts (3), and innings (233 2/3). Dickey’s 20 wins came for a team with a total of 74. He finished ahead of Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Gio Gonzalez of Washington.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here