Elliott wins Bank of America Roval 400, Charlotte Results

Chase Elliott won the Bank of America Roval 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Denny Hamlin was awarded the pole for the race as drivers started on rain tires. Brad Keselowski would move to the front of the field to lead the first lap but it was Chase Elliott who would lead the field to the competition caution on lap 10.

Clint Bowyer would lead much of the remainder of the stage with rain tires before being leased by Ty Dillon who had switched to slicks during the competition caution. A late caution came out for John Hunter Nemechek who had run off course and had trouble getting back on track. Several drivers took the opportunity to switch tires and make pit stops. The stage finished with a one lap shootout which was won by Dillon.

Pitting at the end of the stage would see Dillon give the lead up to Christopher Bell. As the race returned green William Byron would move to the front of the field.

Blaney would get by Byron and then after a set of cautions win the second stage while Kyle Busch suffered a tire issue and had to pit with two laps to go in the stage

Last years winner Chase Elliott would put for a loose wheel as stage three started. Midway though the final stage Bowyer would suffer an issue with the steering of his car while race leader Blaney ran off the track handing the lead to Ryan Preece. Alex Bowman would take the lead with 28 laps to go.

Elliot would pass Bowman for the lead but after a debris caution would need to pass Erik Jones to again assume the top spot.

Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Chase Elliott, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr, Joey Logano and Alex Bowman all advanced to the next round of the playoffs.

Failing to advance to the round of eight were Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer, Austin Dillon and Aric Almirola.

Charlotte Roval Results

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Kurt Busch
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. William Byron
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. Cole Custer
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Tyler Reddick
  13. Jimmie Johnson
  14. Ryan Preece
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Aric Almirola
  17. Ricky Stenhouse
  18. Brad Keselowski
  19. Austin Dillon
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Bubba Wallace
  22. Matt DiBenedetto
  23. Ty Dillon
  24. Christopher Bell
  25. Daniel Suarez
  26. Gray Gaulding
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Quin Houff
  29. James Davison
  30. Kyle Busch
  31. Ryan Newman
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Josh Bilicki
  34. Matt Kenseth
  35. Jj Yeley
  36. John Hunter Nemechek
  37. Brennan Poole
  38. Timmy Hill

Comments Closed