Josef Newgarden wins IndyCar Race No. 1 at Iowa, Full Results

Josef Newgarden won the first of two NTT IndyCar races at Iowa Speedway leaving just five cars on the lead lap after 250 laps.

Will Power began the day on the pole after scoring the pole for both this race and race No. 2 on Sunday. Power, Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden began 1-2-3 for Team Penske.

Iowa women’s basketball star Catlin Clark gave the command to fire engines and Power immediately began to click off laps catching up with the back of the pack and lapping cars before lap 30. Colton Herta would pit on lap 41 and issues on the stop, including a stall, would see him lose four laps.

Rinus VeeKay would make up some positions due to an early stop but as others came in he would find himself sliding back. Power kept the lead though the first round of pitstops with McLaughlin being just half a second behind. Alex Palou opted to stay out one lap longer but found himself in tenth.

On lap 82 Graham Rahal would get into the wall but kept his No. 15 machine going. Moments later McLaughlin would challenge Power for the lead as the slower car of Romain Grosjean provided an opportunity for a pass. All of this would give Newgarden the opportunity he needed to catch and pass McLaughlin. Newgarden would assume the lead on lap 121. Palou and Scott Dixon, who had just worked his way to get back on the lead lap, would both pit a lap before the cars of Newgarden, Power and McLaughlin.

Power would make contact with the wall on lap 145 with McLaughlin and Pato O’Ward both getting around. Rahal would bring out the first caution just after lap 150.

With 43 laps to go several cars pitted bringing the rest of the field with. In the closing laps Newgarden found himself lapping sixth place Dixon enroute to another Iowa win. Just five cars finished on the lead lap. Points leader Palou finished the day eighth.

Iowa Speedway IndyCar Race No. 1 Results

July 22, 2023

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News