Max Verstappen wins in Barcelona, F1 Spanish Grand Prix Results

Max Verstappen claimed his fifth win of the 2023 F1 season on Sunday winning the Spanish Grand Prix by 24 seconds over Lewis Hamilton.

Verstappen began the race on the pole while his Red Bull Racing teammate Sergio Perez started 11th. Pierre Gasly qualified fourth for the race but two penalties for impeding others dropped him to a 10th place start.

As Verstappen would hold off Sainz on the start, Landon Norris and Lewis Hamilton would make contact with each other. Norris would have to pit for a new front wing dropping him behind Charles LeClerc who had to start the race from the pits.

Cars at the back of the field would begin the pit cycle on lap 10 as teams differed on how they would get to the end of the race. Verstappen would never be challenged in the race with Hamilton and George Russell joining him on the podium ahead of a a charging Sergio Perez.

The win is the 40th in the career of Verstappen.

F1 Spanish Grand Prix Results

  1. Max Verstappen
  2. Lewis Hamilton
  3. George Russell
  4. Sergio Perez
  5. Carlos Sainz
  6. Lance Stroll
  7. Fernando Alonso
  8. Esteban Ocon
  9. Yuki Tsunoda
  10. Pierre Gasly
  11. Charles Leclerc
  12. Zhou Guanyu
  13. Oscar Piastri
  14. Nyck De Vries
  15. Nico Hulkenberg
  16. Alexander Albon
  17. Kevin Magnussen
  18. Lando Norris
  19. Valtteri Bottas
  20. Logan Sargeant
John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News