Reece Gold wins Indy NXT race om Detroit, Full Results

Louis Foster scored the pole for both Indy NXT races in Detroit. Unfortunately for Foster his time in race one would last just one turn as he was wrecked off the nose of teammate Hunter McElrea.

Points leader Christian Rasmussen would take damage during the opening lap incident and have to pit for a new front wing. McElrea would get a stop and go penalty for avoidable contact with Foster.

Reece Gold would turn laps as the leader of the race while those behind him jockeyed for position.

On lap 22 Danial Frost would make contact with the back of James Roe going into the turn 3 hairpin turn. It was a disappointing end for Frost who started the race 17th but had worked his way up to seventh.

With 30 laps complete Toby Sowery would pull off the track with a mechanical issue while Nolan Siegel began to pressure Gold for the lead.

Siegel would get around Gold on lap 38 as Ernie Francis Jr would have his best showing in an NXT car moving up to fourth despite dealing with an injured wrist.

Coming to the final two corners Siegel’s car would lose power giving Gold a gifted win. Jagger Jones and Francis would move up to join Gold on the podium.

The Detroit Grand Prix is a 10 turn 1.7-mile track located on the streets of Detroit. Indy NXT will have their second race at the track on Sunday at 12:40 pm ahead of the IndyCar race later in the day.

Indy NXT Detroit Grand Prix Results

  1. Reece Gold
  2. Jagger Jones
  3. Ernie Francis Jr.
  4. Jacob Abel
  5. Enaam Ahmed
  6. Christian Bogle
  7. Hunter McElrea
  8. Nolan Siegel
  9. Christian Rasmussen
  10. James Roe
  11. Jamie Chadwick
  12. Rasmus Lindh
  13. Kyffin Smipson
  14. Matteo Nannini
  15. Josh Green
  16. Colin Kaminsky
  17. Toby Sowery
  18. Danial Frost
  19. Louis Foster
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News