Byron claims Verizon 200 pole, Indy road course lineup

Sunday’s inaugural running of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course for the NASCAR Cup Series will begin with William Byron on the pole.

The driver of the No. 24 Chevrolet was the fastest in Sunday mornings qualifying session which was made up of two rounds. All drivers took to the 14-turn track with the top-12 moving on to the final session to determine the pole.

Kyle Larson was the fastest in the first round but he was only the third fastest Hendrick Motorsports car. Byron, Chase Briscole, and Chase Elliott all qualified ahead of the winner of last weekend’s race at Watkins Glen.  Daniel Suarez rounded out the top five.

On Saturday the NTT IndyCar Series first competed at the 2.439-mile course with Will Power claiming the win. Later in the day Austin Cindric scored Team Penske’s second win of the day with a win in the Xfinity Series event. Cindric will start 13th in Sunday’s Cup Series race.

Coverage of the Verizon 200 will air on NBC beginning at 1:00 pm ET. The green flag is expected to wave at 1:13 pm ET. Stage breaks are scheduled for lap 15 and 32 before the race ending on lap 82 for a total of 200 miles.

Indy Road Course Starting Lineup

  1. William Byron
  2. Chase Briscoe
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Daniel Suarez
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Joey Logano
  8. AJ Allmendinger
  9. Ross Chastain
  10. Cole Custer
  11. Tyler Reddick
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Austin Cindric
  14. Denny Hamlin
  15. Matt DiBenedetto
  16. Ryan Blaney
  17. Christopher Bell
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Chris Buescher
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Kyle Busch
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Alex Bowman
  25. Kevin Harvick
  26. Corey LaJoie
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. Erik Jones
  29. Justin Haley
  30. Ryan Preece
  31. Brad Keselowski
  32. Ryan Newman
  33. Anthony Alfredo
  34. James Davison
  35. Andy Lally
  36. Josh Bilicki
  37. Cody Ware
  38. Quin Houff
  39. Garrett Smithley
  40. Timmy Hill
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News