Allmendinger scores wild win in inaugural Indy road course race

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA – AUGUST 15: AJ Allmendinger, driver of the #16 Hyperice Chevrolet, celebrates in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at the Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on August 15, 2021 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

AJ Allmendinger scored the win in Sunday’s running of the Verizon 200 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. The event marked the first time the NASCAR Cup Series had competed on the 14-turn road course as all previous events at the Brickyard had taken place on the oval.

Allmendinger may not have had the car to beat but a series of events including the track coming apart, a poor navigation of turn one on a restart by Kyle Larson, and the spinning of Denny Hamlin by Chase Briscoe all led to the part-time Kaulig racing team going to victory lane for the first time.

“We just won at Indy, what’s up,” Allmendinger exclaimed after exiting his car.

“I mean, it was survival of the fittest,” Allmendinger said. “We probably had like an eighth, 10th-place car, sped on pit road. I thought we were going to finish 12th to 15th and then those restarts were just insane.

“It’s great when you have a car owner that just says, ‘go get me trophies.’ He doesn’t care if that thing is torn up.”

Indy Road Course Results

  1. AJ Allmendinger
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Matt DiBenedetto
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Justin Haley
  9. Austin Cindric
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  12. Chris Buescher
  13. Bubba Wallace
  14. Kevin Harvick
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Corey LaJoie
  17. Alex Bowman
  18. Josh Bilicki
  19. Aric Almirola
  20. Kyle Busch
  21. Tyler Reddick
  22. Quin Houff
  23. Denny Hamlin
  24. Brad Keselowski
  25. Cole Custer
  26. Chase Briscoe
  27. Timmy Hill
  28. Garrett Smithley
  29. Ross Chastain
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Austin Dillon
  32. James Davison
  33. William Byron
  34. Joey Logano
  35. Ryan Preece
  36. Christopher Bell
  37. Daniel Suarez
  38. Anthony Alredo
  39. Andy Lally
  40. Cody Ware
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News