Truex Jr. wins at Martinsville, Blue Emu 500 Results

A Wednesday night race at the shortest track on the circuit saw Martin Truex Jr. go to victory lane. Martinsville Speedway ran its first race under the lights with the Blue Emu Premium Pain Relief 500.

Ryan Blaney began the day on the pole but by the time the competition caution came around on lap 60 was a lap down. Aric Almirola would lead the first 19 laps but he parted ways for Joey Logano who would leave just 17 cars with him on the lead lap before he he competition caution.

The third caution came out for Timmy Hill who stalled on pit road. Corey LaJoie would take the lead as others pitted with Bubba Wallace being the first off pit road after taking two tires. LaJoie’s lead vanished when they went back to green with Logano getting by with ease to win the stage. On lap 203 Jimmie Johnson would move to the lead and end the second stage in the lead. Blaney, who had reclaimed his lost lap, would assume the lead on lap 275 with teammate Logano following behind him ten laps later for the top spot. Blaney would retake them lead until a spin by David Starr brought out a caution. He would suffer a penalty for his pit crew being over the wall too soon which resulted in him being shuffled back to 17th. Logano and Keselowski would lead the field back to green.

Keselowski would lead lap 366 after some tight racing with Logano, Elliott and several lapped cars. Martin Truex Jr. would then challenger the No. 2 car for the top spot and became the leader with a pass on lap 370. Blaney would work his way back into the top five as Austin Dillon, who suffered damage to the crush panels early in the race, had to be helped from his ride.

Blaney would never get close enough to challenge Truex who checked out from the field for his first win of the season replicating his win from the fall 2019 race.

Martinsville Speedway Results

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Alex Bowman
  7. Matt DiBenedetto
  8. William Byron
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Bubba Wallace
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Tyler Reddick
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Corey LaJoie
  19. Kyle Busch
  20. Erik Jones
  21. Ricky Stenhouse
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Matt Kenseth
  24. Denny Hamlin
  25. John Hunter Nemechek
  26. Ryan Preece
  27. Daniel Suarez
  28. Christopher Bell
  29. Cole Custer
  30. Brenna Poole
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. David Starr
  33. Aric Almirola
  34. Quin Houff
  35. Joey Gase
  36. Austin Dillon
  37. Garrett Smithley
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Timmy Hill
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News