Harvick wins at Atlanta, Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 Results

Kevin Harvick won the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Chase Elliott would begin the event on the pole thanks to a random draw and mead his first laps at the 1.5 mile while Kurt Busch had the unfortunate penalty of a drop to the rear and a pass through penalty to start the race after his car failed inspection three times. Busch would get the lucky dog on lap 25 during a competition caution.

Kevin Harvick again reminded everyone he is always a threat at Atlanta taking the lead and extending it during a round of green flag pit stops. Martin Truex Jr. would assume the lead from Harvick and go onto win the first stage.

Just before the midway point of stage two Clint Bowyer would be forced to pit for a tire issue placing him a lap down but green flag pit stops would end up benefitting him as his No. 14 car would move to the lead. Truex would work his way around Bowyer to reassume the lead.

With eight laps to go in the second stage John Hunter Nemechek would play a role in teammate Michael McDowell spinning on the front stretch to bring out a caution. Kyle Busch would assume the lead following pit stops but Truex wastes no time in retaking it and claiming the stage win.

Pit stops before stage three yielded the lead to Busch. Harvick would immediately pounce and retake the lead when the race went green.

In the end no one had anything for Harvick who claimed his 51st Cup Series race on crew chief Rodney Childers birthday moving into 12th on the all-time wins lead ahead of Ned Jarrett and Junior Johnson.

Folds of Honor/QuikTrip 500 Results

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Chase Elliott
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Alex Bowman
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Tyler Reddick
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Christopher Bell
  19. Cole Custer
  20. Bubba Wallace
  21. Clint Bowyer
  22. Chris Buescher
  23. John Hunter Nemechek
  24. Michael McDowell
  25. Matt DiBenedetto
  26. Ryan Preece
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Erik Jones
  29. Ty Dillon
  30. Brennan Poole
  31. Daniel Suarez
  32. Quin Houff
  33. William Byron
  34. Josh Bilicki
  35. Garrett Smithley
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Reed Sorenson
  38. Joey Gase
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. BJ McLeod
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News