Joey Logano wins NASCAR Cup Series title at Homestead

Joey Logano claimed the 2018 NASCAR Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Four drivers entered the race with a chance for the Cup. Martin Truex Jr., Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano entered the 1.5-mile track with a chance at the title. Logano was the lone driver who had not previously won a championship. All three of those championships came via a win in this race under the winner take all format.

Denny Hamlin began the race on the pole but did not choose the first pit stall, instead allowing teammate Kyle Busch to claim it via his second place qualifying effort. All four drivers began the race near the front of the field which drivers had to hope would prevent them from being collected in an accident with cars not running for the championship. In the end it was Logano who was able to take the lead on the last restart and claim the MENCS championship.

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News