Bowman on pole, Daytona 500 starting lineup set following Can-Am Duels

Alex Bowman and Denny Hamlin knew entering Thursday’s Can-Am Duel races knowing they were going to be on the front row for Sunday’s upcoming Daytona 500.

The rest of the field entered the duels knowing their finish in these 150 mile races would affect their starting spot in Sunday’s running of the 60th Daytona 500.

Just 40 cars were entered into the Daytona 500 meaning that all those who arrived in Daytona Beach this weekend were assured of starting The Great American Race at the 2.5-mile Daytona International Speedway.

Winners: Blaney wins Duel 1, Elliott wins Duel 2

In past years the duels had determined which drivers would even make the Daytona 500 but as NASCAR has introduced charters and the financial situation around sponsorship continues to take shape, there rarely is more cars entered into a race than spots in the field.

Ryan Blaney claimed the first Can-Am Duel of Thursday while it was Chase Elliott winning the second.

Daytona 500 Starting Lineup

  1. Alex Bowman
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Bubba Wallace
  8. Erik Jones
  9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Kyle Busch
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Austin Dillon
  15. David Ragan
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Daniel Suarez
  18. Trevor Bayne
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. Michael McDowell
  23. Ty Dillon
  24. Martin Truex Jr.
  25. Brendan Gaughan
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Justin Marks
  30. DJ Kennington
  31. Brad Keselowski
  32. Corie Lajoie
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Gray Gaulding
  35. William Byron
  36. Mark Thompson
  37. Jimmie Johnson
  38. Matt DiBenedetto
  39. Aric Almirola
  40. Kyle Larson


John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News