Luke Lambert and Jeff Burton to re-unite in 2013

Luke Lambert will be upon the pit box for Jeff Burton as the crew chief for the No.31 Chevrolet of Richard Childress Racing in 2013.  Lambert acted as crew chief for Burton late in the 2011 season. This season he was the crew chief for Elliott Sadler’s No.2 Nationwide Series team.

The move became necessary after Drew Blickensderfer resigned as crew chief of the No. 31 car following Sunday’s race at Martinsville Speedway. Blickensderfer will assume a similar role at Richard Petty Motorsports where he will replace Mike Ford as the crew chief of the No. 9 Ford driven by Marcos Ambrose.

Blickensderfer had spent nine years with Roush Fenway Racing before joining Richard Childress Racing. He is the latest change at RCR and the No. 31 car as spotter Brent Griffin left the team a month ago.

Shane Wilson will be the crew chief for Burton in the Sprint Cup Series final three races. He has been a longtime fixture at RCR working with both Clint Bowyer and Kevin Harvick.

It is expected that Ford will join BK Racing. He told Fox Sports that he had been working with Richard Petty Motorsports without a true contract. Ford previously was the crew chief for Denny Hamlin at Joe Gibbs Racing before being replaced by Darian Grubb,

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News