Kasey Kahne wins pole at Kansas, full race lineup

Kasey Kahne, driver of the No.5 Quaker State Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports won the pole at the newly repaved Kansas Speedway and will lead the pack off starting first on Sunday for the Hollywood Casino 400.

The track was full of uncertainties as it had underwent modifications shortly after the Spring race to give the track fresh pavement and add 17-20 degree banking in the turns, but Kahne was able to hold on to capture his fourth pole of the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season.

“It’s fast, it’s smooth and it’s a great track,” Kahne said. “We’ve run pretty good here in the past. It doesn’t feel anything like the old track, but we had a really good balance today and were able to put down a good lap.”

It was his 26th career pole and third at Kansas. Now is a great time to pick up your favorite Kasey Kahne fan gear, great for Christmas presents or for yourself.

All 46 drivers that made an attempt to qualify broke Matt Kenseth’s old track record of 180.856. Kahne’s qualifying lap speed was 191.360

Mark Martin came close in second with a speed of 191.238, followed by last weekends winner Clint Bowyer with a speed of 191.238.

Greg Biffle was fastest during practice but ended up qualifying a solid 11th. Regan Smith who is sitting in for Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the second week due to his concussion is starting all the way back in 39th position.

Points leader Brad Keselowski will start Sunday’s race in 25th after a lousy qualifying run. Drivers that did not qualify were David Stremme, Cole Whitt and Josh Wise.

Full  lineup for Sunday’s race at Kansas Speedway below, Chase drivers are in RED.

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Mark Martin
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Greg Biffle
  12. Matt Kenseth
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Sam Hornish Jr.
  16. Martin Truex Jr.
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Jeff Gordon
  20. Jeff Burton
  21. Jamie McMurray
  22. Bobby Labonte
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. Juan Pablo Montoya
  25. Brad Keselowski
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. JJ Yeley
  28. Casey Mears
  29. Kurt Busch
  30. Mike Bliss
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. Tony Stewart
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Scott Speed
  36. Joe Nemechek
  37. David Ragan
  38. David Gilliland
  39. Regan Smith
  40. Danica Patrick
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Timmy Hill
  43. Kelly Bires


Recent News