Jeff Gordon recipient of Heisman Humanitarian Award

Heisman Trophy winners Tim Brown and George Rogers plus an official of the organization that presents the trophy traveled to Pocono Raceway Friday to announce that Jeff Gordon; driver of the No.24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet will be the seventh recipient to receive the Heisman Humanitarian Award.

The award is presented to an athlete who “gives back to improving the lives of others,” said Heisman Memorial Trust official Jim Corcoran

The award will be presented at the annual Heisman Trophy dinner in New York City Dec. 10.

Corcoran said Gordon has “a legacy of excellence both on the field of competition and for the greater good of society.”

Gordon, a four time NASCAR Sprint Cup Seires (NSCS) champion, is a big fan of charitable giving. Aside from the Jeff Gordon Foundation the veteran is also an active prat of the Jeff Gordon children’s hospital and the Make a Wish foundation. He is also one of the founders of Athletes for Hope.

“Today we’re seeing a lot more success in what we could somewhat call ‘winning’ because the cure rates on a majority of cancers have gone very high,” Gordon said. “At the same time, the long-term effects are still a plague for these kids. There’s still so much to be done. You see so many kids suffering and dying, and it doesn’t need to happen.

“Trophies are nice, but they do tarnish. But when you save a child’s life – those are things that stay with you for a lifetime.”

Below is a list of past winners of the award.

2006: Joey Cheek, Olympic speed skating gold medalist
2007: George Martin, former NFL
2008: Pat LaFontaine, former hockey superstar
2009: Mia Hamm, Women’s Soccer Legend
2010: Warrick Dunn, FSU & NFL Star
2011: Marty Lyons, former NFL

Recent News