Blickensderfer named crew chief for Jeff Burton

Veteran crew chief Drew Blickensderfer has been named the newest crew chief for Jeff Burton, driver of the #31 Caterpillar Chevrolet. Blickensderfer will take over the role which had been occupied by Luke Lambert since July. Lambert took over the role mid-season from Todd Berrier.

Under Lambert the #31 car was in contention in the final five races and nearly won the fall race at Talladega before being passed by teammate Clint Bowyer entering the tri oval. Thus far Lambert’s official role for 2012 is yet to be determined.

Blickensderfer served as the crew chief for the #6 Roush Fenway Ford driven by David Ragan in 2011. He served as the crew chief for Matt Kenseth during the 2009 season that saw the team win the first two races at Daytona and California but ultimately miss the Chase for the Sprint Cup. After the Daytona 500 in 2010 he was removed as the crew chief for Kenseth.

Blickensderfer also served as the crew chief for Carl Edwards in the Nationwide Series on two different occasions, in 1998 and after his reassignment from the #17 of Kenseth in 2010.

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News