NASCAR limits drivers to one series championship in 2011

The rumors are true. NASCAR is limiting drivers to running for one championship in 2011.

It had been rumored this winter that NASCAR would prevent Sprint Cup regulars from attempting to win the Nationwide Series title after Sprint Cup drivers had feasted on the lower tier in recent years. On Tuesday it became known that the competition committee had taken action.

Veteran driver Kenny Wallace made it known.

“The brand-new license forms that are out, there’s a box and in it, it states that you have to mark — put an X — what championship you’re running for,” Wallace said, quoting his application. “A driver will only be permitted to earn driver championship points in one (1) of the following three series: NASCAR Sprint Cup, NASCAR Nationwide or NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Please select the series in which you would like to accumulate driver championship points. Choose one.”

NASCAR is waiting until next week to come public about the change.

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News