NBA announces Slam Dunk Contest Participants



The NBA released rules for a revised Slam Dunk Contest as well as the six players who will participate.

For the first time ever, the dunk contest will have two teams. With awards going to the winning team and individuals at the end of the night

The Slam Dunk Contest will be East vs. West.
East (Terrence Ross, Paul George and John Wall)
West (Harrison Barnes, Damian Lillard and Ben McLemore).

The first round will be 9 seconds where dunkers on each side will throw down as many dunks as they can. Judges will select a winner who will have the option to go first or second in the next round.

In the second round the dunkers will square off against one another. Judges will select a winner from each match-up with the loser being eliminated. The winners will continue until one of the teams win three battles. The winning team will win the team award.

If nothing else this should speed up the competition which had come to a crawl in recent years with excessive props and do overs.

It’ll be interesting if this saves the dunk competition or not. I believe most fans will still harp on the names who will be in the competition.