Jose Abreu, Jacob DeGrom win rookie of the year honors

There was little question as to who was the American League Rookie of the Year in 2014. On Monday the Baseball Writers Association of America announced that Jose Abreu had won the award unanimously receiving all 30 first-place votes.

Abreu had a huge season with the Chicago White Sox hitting .317/.383/.581 with 36 homers and 107 RBI and had the White Sox played better as a team would have received some consideration for AL MVP. Los Angeles Angels pitcher Matt Shoemaker finished runner-up in the voting, while New York Yankees reliever Dellin Betances came in third.

The story was not too much different in the National League as New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom took 26 of the 30 first place votes toe win the award. deGrom earned the award after posting a 2.69 ERA and 144/43 K/BB ratio over 140 1/3 innings for the Mets.

Cincinnati outfielder Billy Hamilton took the other four first place votes with St. Louis infielder Kolten Wong coming home third in the voting.

Sign Up For Our E-mail List

  • MLB Stories Delivered To Your Mailbox
  • Trending News from NFL, NASCAR, WWE & More
  • Easy Access to Return to Our Site

Get e-mails from Tireball Sports now!