Hamilton wins F1 opener, Bahrain results

Lewis Hamilton won the F1 season opener in Bahrain.

The race saw an additional formation lap after Sergio Perez lost power on the initial one. When the race went green it was short lived as Nikita Mazepin went off course after three turns. When the race returned to green Mick Schumacher would spin while Pierre Gasley would lose his front wing.

All of that occurred while race leader and pole sitter Max Verstappen believed he had an issue with his car. Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes would pit early hoping to draw Verstappen and Red Bull in as well but that did not take place.

When Verstappen pitted he turned the lead over to Hamilton who would relinquish it when he made his second stop. Valtteri Bottas would have trouble in the pits losing 10 seconds right a front right issue.

Fernando Alonso would retire due to brake issues as Hamilton would lead Verstappen by nearly six seconds after final pit stops.

Verstappen would pass Hamilton but give the spot back after believing he had run off the track in making the pass. In the end Hamilton would hold off Verstappen and set the stage for a season where he aims to win his eight title.

To add further insult to Red Bull was that Bottas would earn the fastest lap of the race on the final lap.

Bahrain Results

  1. Lewis Hamilton
  2. Max Verstappen
  3. Valtteri Bottas
  4. Lando Norris
  5. Sergio Perez
  6. Charles Leclerc
  7. Daniel Ricardo
  8. Carlos Sainz
  9. Lance Stroll
  10. Yuki Tsunoda
  11. Kimi Raikkonen
  12. Antonio Giovinazzi
  13. Esteban Ocon
  14. Sebastian Vettel
  15. George Russell
  16. Pierre Gasley
  17. Nicholas Latifi
  18. Mick Schumacher
  19. Fernando Alonso
  20. Nikita Mazepin

Comments Closed