Chase Briscoe on pole for Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Deyonta, Cup Series lineup for Regular season finale

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA – AUGUST 25: Chase Briscoe, driver of the #14 Magical Vacation Planner Ford, poses for photos after winning the pole award during qualifying for the NASCAR Cup Series Coke Zero Sugar 400 at Daytona International Speedway on August 25, 2023 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Chase Briscoe will lead a field of 39 Cup Series cars to the green flag for Saturday’s regular season finale at Daytona International Speedway.

The final chance to earn entry into NASCAR’s post season for it’s top series is Saturday night in the Coke Zero Sugar 400.

In total 16 drivers will stay alive to compete for the season ending championship with many locked in via wins currently with up to others being able to point their way in.

As it stands 15 drivers are locked in they include Ricky Stenhouse Jr, Kyle Busch, William Byron, Joey Logano, Kyle Reddick, Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell, Martin Truex Jr, Denny Hamlin, Ryan Blaney, Ross Chastain, Chris Buescher, Michael McDowell, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick.

There is one spot remaining. Bubba Wallace currently is 32 points ahead of Ty Gibbs for the final spot on points. If another playoff driver wins the race or if he scores a total of 24 points or a 13th place finish without stage points. Should he earn stage points he would go even further to locking himself in.

Of course Wallace’s playoffs hopes depend on a non-winner not going to victory lane.

AJ Allmendinger, Alex Bowman, Chase Elliott, Austin Cindric, Justin Haley, Ryan Preece, Aric Almirola, Todd Gilliland, Corey LaJoie, Erik Jones, Austin Dillon, Harrison Burton, Chase Briscoe and Ty Dillon.

There are four drivers who may be the biggest threat to Wallace’s playoff hopes. Gibbs, Daniel Suarez, Chase Elliott and Alex Bowman are all without a win this season and in the case of the latter three could instantly redeem frustrating seasons with a win.

The Cup Series regular season finale at Daytona airs on NBC and Peacock beginning at 7 pm ET.

Cup Series Daytona Starting Lineup

Qualifying: August 25, 2023; Race to be held: August 26, 2023

Pos. Driver Sponsor Time Speed
1 Chase Briscoe Magical Vacation Planner Ford 49.499 181.822
2 Aric Almirola Smithfield Ford 49.534 181.693
3 Harrison Burton DEX Imaging Ford 49.613 181.404
4 Bubba Wallace Columbia Sportswear Company Toyota 49.639 181.309
5 Ty Gibbs # Monster Energy Toyota 49.642 181.298
6 Riley Herbst(i) Monster Energy Zero Sugar Ford 49.648 181.276
7 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 49.654 181.254
8 Ryan Blaney Advance Auto Parts Ford 49.709 181.054
9 Ryan Preece Ford 49.741 180.937
10 Kevin Harvick GEARWRENCH Ford 49.772 180.825
11 Chris Buescher Fifth Third Bank Ford 49.852 180.534
12 Brad Keselowski King’s Hawaiian Ford 49.876 180.448
13 Martin Truex Jr. Bass Pros Shops/Ducks Unlimited Toyota 49.892 180.39
14 Joey Logano Shell Pennzoil Ford 49.922 180.281
15 Christopher Bell Yahoo! Toyota 49.928 180.26
16 Austin Cindric Menards/Cardell Cabinetry Ford 49.943 180.205
17 AJ Allmendinger Action Industries Chevrolet 49.951 180.177
18 Kyle Busch Cheddar’s Scratch Kitchen Chevrolet 49.953 180.169
19 Denny Hamlin FedEx Cares Toyota 49.962 180.137
20 Tyler Reddick The Beast Unleashed Toyota 49.987 180.047
21 Austin Dillon BREZTRI Chevrolet 50.053 179.809
22 Daniel Suarez Chevrolet 50.055 179.802
23 Chase Elliott LLumar Chevrolet 50.079 179.716
24 Erik Jones Allegiant Chevrolet 50.102 179.634
25 Ross Chastain Worldwide Express Chevrolet 50.108 179.612
26 Austin Hill(i) United Rentals/Beard Oil Chevrolet 50.206 179.261
27 William Byron Chevrolet 50.231 179.172
28 Justin Haley Celsius Chevrolet 50.253 179.094
29 Josh Berry(i) Sunseeker Resort Chevrolet 50.272 179.026
30 Ty Dillon Gainbridge Chevrolet 50.32 178.855
31 Alex Bowman Ally Arena Chevrolet 50.355 178.731
32 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Boost by Kroger/Entenmann’s Chevrolet 50.382 178.635
33 JJ Yeley(i) Biohaven/Jacob Co. Ford 50.411 178.532
34 Brennan Poole(i) Finance Pro Plus Ford 50.415 178.518
35 Todd Gilliland Boot Barn Ford 50.421 178.497
36 Chandler Smith(i) Quick Tie Products Inc. Chevrolet 50.432 178.458
37 Corey LaJoie NEGU Chevrolet 50.474 178.31
38 BJ McLeod B’laster Chevrolet 50.597 177.876
39 Michael McDowell Fr8Auctions Ford 50.712 177.473
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News