Max Verstappen wins Austrian Grand Prix, F1 Results

Max Verstappen continued to be the only car up front winning his seventh race of the season and fifth in a row.

4.318 km (2.683 miles) 10 turns

The race began with a scrum in the back which resulted in a caution and left Yuki Tsunoda having to return to the pits for a new front wring. Nico Hulkenburg would suffer an engine loss early in the race bringing out a virtual safety car which left much of the field, save the leaders pitting.

Sergio Perez started the race 15th and began to cut though the field. The virtual safety car allowed him to get as high as fourth before he would pit for tires. Verstappen’s streak of 249 consecutive laps led would end when he pitted for fresh hard tires on lap 24 giving Charles LeClerc the lead with teammate Carlos Sainz moving up to second. Verstappen would get around Sainz on lap 26.

As the laps in the race clicked off drivers begun to accumulate five second penalties for track limits, many of which occurred in turn 10. Tsunoda, Lewis Hamiton, Alex Albon, Logan Sargeant and Pierre Gasly all would be giving penalties for track limits.

Verstappen would retake the lead on lap 35 and begin to pull away. Even a pit stop could not taken Verstappen from the lead as he pitted and came out as the leader ahead of Perez who would pit and come out fifth hoping to make a few moves in order to score a runner up award. Verstappen’s lead was so great that he would pit again from the lead on the next to last lap in order to claim the fastest lap of the race from Perez.

With the win Verstappen now has 42 career wins, one more than Ayrton Senna.

F1 Austrian Grand Prix Results


Following the race F1 announced penalties to several drivers for track limits resulting in a shuffling of the results. The new results are below.

The Austrian Grand Prix results are now as follows:

  1. Max Verstappen
  2. Charles Leclerc
  3. Sergio Perez
  4. Lando Norris (up from P5)
  5. Fernando Alonso (up from P6)
  6. Carlos Sainz (demoted from P4)
  7. George Russell (up from P8)
  8. Lewis Hamilton (demoted from P7)
  9. Lance Stroll (up from P10)
  10. Pierre Gasly (demoted from P9)
  11. Alex Albon (penalty, but no movement in position)
  12. Zhou Guanyu (up from P14)
  13. Logan Sargeant (penalty, but no movement in position)
  14. Esteban Ocon (demoted from P12)
  15. Valtteri Bottas (up from P16)
  16. Oscar Piastri (up from P17)
  17. Nyck de Vries (demoted from P15)
  18. Kevin Magnussen (up from P19)
  19. Yuki Tsunoda (demoted from P18)

DNF: Nico Hulkenberg

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News