Denny Hamlin wins at Homestead, Dixie Vodka 400 results

Denny Hamlin won Sunday’s running of the Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

After years of the 1.5-mile track being the final race of the season, this year the event was shifted to earlier in the season. A rain shower prevented the race from going green by just over an hour.

Joey Logano got around pole sitter Denny Hamlin to lead the first lap as dark clouds surrounded the race track. Racing lasted only until lap four when lighting again was spotted at the track. After more than a 30 minute stoppage drovers re-fired their cars only to immediately turn them off after lightning was again spotted. In total the red flag was displayed for two hours and eight minutes.

Ryan Newman would bring out a caution on lap 21 after he spun due to a flat left tire. Lightening returned on lap 32. A 38 minute delay followed and multiple cars including Joey Logano, Matt DiBenedetto and Kevin Harvick would make contact with one another on out road during pit stops. Meanwhile Ryan Blaney would get around Chase Elliott when the race returned to green.

Denny Hamlin would end stage one in the lead as drivers headed to pit road for service. Blaney would establish himself at the front of the field before green flag pit stops midway though the stage took place. Hamlin would put a lap earlier than Blaney assuming they lead in the process. Hamlin would go duplicate his win in the first stage with one in the second.

Hamlin and Blaney would battle one another for the lead early in stage three. Elliott would pit one lap ahead of Hamlin who came down pit road with 50 laps to go and end up with a lead of 1.6 seconds over the No. 11 car. Hamlin would get around Elliott while Tyler Reddick chased Blaney for third.

In the end it was Hamlin claiming his 40th career win in the Cup Series.

Dixie Vodka 400 Results

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Tyler Reddick
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Christopher Bell
  9. William Byron
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Martin Truex Jr.
  13. Bubba Wallace
  14. Matt DiBenedetto
  15. Michael McDowell
  16. Jimmie Johnson
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Alex Bowman
  19. John Hunter Nemechek
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Erik Jones
  22. Cole Custer
  23. Chris Buescher
  24. Ryan Preece
  25. Matt Kenseth
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. Joey Logano
  28. Ty Dillon
  29. Corey LaJoie
  30. Ryan Newman
  31. Daniel Suarez
  32. Brenna Poole
  33. Quin Houff
  34. Timmy Hill
  35. BJ McLeod
  36. Joey Gase
  37. Josh Bilicki
  38. JJ Yelley
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News