ThorSport Racing’s request to reinstate drivers to playoffs denied

NASCAR denied a request by ThorSport Racing to reinstate Johnny Sauter and Grant Enfinger to the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series playoffs.

Sauter and Enfinger suffered silumatious blown engines at Las Vegas Motor Speedway due to an issue that Ilmor Engineering has taken responsibility for with a public apology.

Ilmor provides the NT1 engine which is run by nearly every Truck Series team. Mutliple engine failures took place in the Sept. 13 race at Las Vegas and after an investigation, Ilmor cited the a combination of high engine load and extreme weather conditions as the reason for the failures.

With the denial of ThorSport’s request there are six drivers still eligable for the championship. Brett Moffitt, Austin Hill, Ross Chastain, Stewart Friesen, Matt Crafton and Tyler Ankrum will begin the second round of the playoffs at Talladega Superspeedway on Oct. 12.

John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News