Daytona 500, Race Date, Start Time and viewing options for The Great American Race

If you are a race fan you’re already thinking about it. The Daytona 500, The Great American Race, NASCAR.

NASCAR’s season opening Daytona 500 will be the 60th running of the biggest race of the year. This year it returns to the Sunday before President’s Day. The “Super Bowl” of Auto Racing will be run two weeks after the NFL’s Super Bowl.

Gone are Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Matt Kenseth. I know you’re probably thinking, No Earnhardt at Daytona? Not so fast. Jeffrey Earnhardt, son of Kerry, has joined up with Circle Sport to drive the No. 33 car which would ensure that an Earnhardt will have run the Daytona 500 every year dating back to 1979. Dale Sr’s first Daytona race came on July 4, 1978. Earnhardt Jr. will also be part of FOX’s broadcast crew and serve as the grand marshall so he will not be entirely gone.

So now you are still wondering. What else do I need to know?

When is the Daytona 500 in 2018?

The season opener will be held on Feb. 18. Green flag drops at 2:30 pm ET.

What is the Daytona 500?

The biggest NASCAR race of the year. 40 drivers hoping to win the biggest race purse of the year. The race is 200 laps around a 2.5-mile superspeedway. Last year the race was broken up into three segments of 60, 60 and 80 laps.

Can I get tickets to go to the race?

Tickets are available. They start at $95 to get into race day and go all the way up to $230 on the Daytona website. There are other packages for the race which would allow you to see practice, the Duel races and the Xfinity Series race which is held the day before.

It’s worth pointing out that the Advance Auto Parts Clash, a non points race, is held the weekend before.


Daytona 500 Speedweeks Condensed Schedule

This is simply the qualifying, Duels and the Daytona 500. Check back later for additional practice times.

Sunday Feb. 11
12:00 pm – Daytona 500 Qualifying at Daytona International Speedway, TV channel: FOX Radio: MRN
3:00 pm – The Clash at Daytona International Speedway, TV channel: FS1, Radio: MRN

Thursday Feb. 15
7:00 pm – The Duel at Daytona International Speedway, TV channel: FS1, Radio: MRN

Sunday Feb. 18
2:30 pm – Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway, TV channel: FOX, Radio: MRN

Who are existing Daytona 500 winners in the field?

Kurt Busch in the No. 41, Denny Hamlin in the No. 11, Joey Logano in the No. 22, Jimmie Johnson in the No. 48, Trevor Bayne in the No. 6, Jamie McMurray in the No. 1, Ryan Newman in the No. 31, Kevin Harvick in the No. 4, It’s unclear if 1990 winner Derrike Cope will be running in the event.

John Boarman
John Boarman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News