Stewart-Haas Racing switching to Ford for 2017 season


The 2016 season will be the last in which Stewart-Haas Racing uses Chevrolet engines. Beginning in 2017 SHR will compete with Ford engines prepared by Roush Yates Engines.

“I am proud of our association with Chevrolet as they helped build our organization into the team it is today,” said Tony Stewart, co-owner, Stewart-Haas Racing. “This new partnership with Ford allows us to strengthen our position in the sport and ensure the long-term stability and success for everyone who is a part of Stewart-Haas Racing.”

Currently SHR fields cars for Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Danica Patrick and Stewart. Brian Vickers drove Stewart’s No. 14 at Daytona and its expected that Ty Dillon will help him fill out the schedule before Stewart is able to return to action. Next year Clint Bowyer moves to the team.

“Motorsports is an extremely challenging environment where in order to maintain success you have to constantly innovate. It’s true in NASCAR and it’s true in business,” said Gene Haas, co-owner, Stewart-Haas Racing. “We’ve enjoyed great success with Chevrolet, but this opportunity with Ford allows us to evolve while continuing to compete at the highest levels of the sport.”

John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News