Darrell Wallace Jr. wins Truck race at Martinsville, full results for the Kroger 200

getty images
getty images

Darrell Wallace Jr. claimed victory in the Kroger 200 at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday afternoon.

The driver of the No. 54 Toyota beat Brendan Gaughan to the checkered flag in the 200 lap event held at the .526 mile paperclip oval.

Denny Hamlin began the race on the pole but Johnny Sauter wasted no time in leading the first lap but it would not take long for Hamlin to regain the top spot. Hamlin’s chances of winning went awry when Matt Crafton made contact with him with just under 60 laps to go.

Fellow Cup Series driver Kevin Harvick’s day went bad following a late race incident with Ty Dillon.¬†Harvick would go on to make critical comments of Dillon following his exit from the race.

With the field bumping behind him Darrell Wallace crossed the line uncontested becoming the first African American to win in NASCAR’s top three series since Wendell Scott won a Cup Series race in 1963.

Matt Crafton entered the race with a 57 point lead in the point standings, he will leave 51 points up after a 17th place finish.

Results for the Kroger 200 Truck Series race from Martinsville Speedway

  1. Darrell Wallace
  2. Brendan Gaughan
  3. Jeb Burton
  4. Ben Kennedy
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. German Quiroga Jr.
  8. Johnny Sauter
  9. Scott Riggs
  10. James Buescher
  11. Max Gresham
  12. Joey Coulter
  13. John Wes Townley
  14. Ross Chastain
  15. Jeff Agnew
  16. John Hunter Nemechek
  17. Matt Crafton
  18. Dakoda Armstrong
  19. Brandon Jones
  20. Chase Elliott
  21. Miguel Paludo
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Caleb Homan
  24. Brennan Newberry
  25. Ryan Sieg
  26. Timothy Peters
  27. Clay Greenfield
  28. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  29. Norm Benning
  30. Kevin Harvick
  31. Timmy Hill
  32. Daniel Hemric
  33. Bryan Silas
  34. Bradley Riethmeyer
  35. Chris Jones
  36. Jimmy Weller III
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News