Jamie McMurray wins Cup race at Talladega, full results for Camping World RV Sales 500

getty images
getty images

Jamie McMurray won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday after a last lap crash ended the race under caution.

The Camping World RV Sales 500 began with Aric Almirola on the pole. Almirola had the fastest time in the first practice of the weekend and earned the pole once qualifying was rained out. It did not take long for points leader Matt Kenseth to get to the front and lead, likewise Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon and other Chase contenders also took turns leading laps before the midway point.

Surprisingly there was no “big one” only a last lap crash between two cars that robbed fans of seeing a race to the checked flag.

STANDINGS: Jimmie Johnson is back on top, full points following Talladega

On the last lap of the race Rickey Stenhouse Jr. made contact with Austin Dillon sending the No. 14 car into the air briefly and ending the race under caution.

By virtue of his 16th place finish Jimmie Johnson now holds a four point lead over Matt Kenseth in the point standings with four races remaining.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Results from Talladega Superspeedway

  1. Jamie McMurray
  2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  4. Paul Menard
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. David Ragan
  7. David Gilliland
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Greg Biffle
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Kevin Harvick
  13. Jimmie Johnson
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. Travis Kvapil
  19. Kurt Busch
  20. Matt Kenseth
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Trevor Bayne
  24. Justin Allgaier
  25. Dave Blaney
  26. Austin DIllon
  27. Casey Mears
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Brad Keselowski
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Cole Whitt
  32. Michael waltrip
  33. Danica Patrick
  34. Bobby Labonte
  35. Terry Labonte
  36. Kasey Kahne
  37. Landon Cassill
  38. Denny Hamlin
  39. Marcos Ambrose
  40. David Reutimann
  41. Juan Pablo Montoya
  42. Joe Nemechek
  43. Tony Raines
John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News