Carl Edwards wins at Richmond, full results for the Federated Auto Parts 400


Carl Edwards won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond International Raceway on Saturday night.

With the completion of the race the NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase field has been set. Earning entry into the Chase are Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson, Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Dale Earnhardt, Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Joey Logano, Martin Truex and Kasey Kahne.

CHASE FIELD: 12 Drivers are in the Chase

The Federated Auto Parts 400 began with Jeff Gordon on the pole at the 3/4 mile oval in Richmond, VA. Gordon claimed the 73rd pole of his career and led early on. Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch Matt Kenseth would also make their way to the front to lead.


At the halfway point it was Keselowski up front. On lap 225 Gordon was forced to pit road with problems with a loose right front tire, losing two laps in the process. Gordon would earn one lap back under green and benefited from a debris caution to get the other.

In the end Joey Logano would make the Chase by taking the wave around knocking Jeff Gordon out.

Carl Edwards won the race beating Ryan Newman who lost out on a tie breaker for the second wild card spot to Martin Truex Jr. The win is the second of the season for Edwards.

Results for the Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Ryan Newman
  4. Jamie McMurray
  5. Paul Menard
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Jeff Gordon
  9. MarkMartin
  10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Greg Biffle
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Kasey Kahne
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Brad Keselowski
  18. Jeff Burton
  19. Kyle Busch
  20. Aric Almirola
  21. Denny Hamlin
  22. Joey Logano
  23. David Gilliland
  24. Brian Vickers
  25. Clint Bowyer
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Marcos Ambrose
  28. Travis Kvapil
  29. David Ragan
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Dave Blaney
  32. David Reutimann
  33. Tony Raines
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Ryan Truex
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Ken Schrader
  38. David Stremme
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Jimmie Johnson
  41. Josh Wise
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Michael McDowell
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News