Sadler title hopes take hit, Logano wins Nationwide Series race at Phoenix, full results

Elliott Sadler was running 12th with two laps to go when he made contact with the No. 88 car of Cole Whitt. Sadler tapped Whitt’s car and then made contact with the wall. As his car came down off the wall it was hit by teammate Brendan Gaughan ripping the nose of the car off. Sadler entered the race tied for the points lead with Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

The crew attempted to make repairs to Sadler’s No. 2 car but NASCAR ordered them off the track after parts from his car still dragged on the tracks surface. Sadler would finish 22nd one lap down and fell 20 points behind Stenhouse who finished third.

“I did it myself” Sadler said after the race. “I definitely dug ourselves a hole.”

Last year Sadler also wrecked at Phoenix on the back stretch after diving on the apron and making contact with Jason Leffler. Stenhouse claimed the series title.

Joey Logano started on the pole looking to win his ninth race in the Nationwide Series this season. He would do just that leading 169 laps of the 200 finishing ahead of Ricky Stenhouse Jr to claim victory in the Great Clips 200. Logano was driving a car featuring the Epic Mickey video game.

Brad Keselowski was a contender for the win before cutting a tire as the leader on a restart past the half way point. Keselowski would remain on the lead lap thanks to contact between the No. 54 of Kyle Busch and the No. 12 of Sam Hornish but finished ninth.

Stenhouse needs to finish 16th or better at Homestead to clinch his second Nationwide Series title.

Full Race Results

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Brian Vickers
  3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Michael Annett
  8. Brian Scott
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. Justin Allgaier
  12. Jason Leffler
  13. Mike Bliss
  14. Sam Hornish Jr.
  15. Alex Bowman
  16. Joe Nemechek
  17. Jason Bowles
  18. Jamie Dick
  19. Mike Wallace
  20. Eric McClure
  21. Paulie Harraka
  22. Elliott Sadler
  23. Jeff Green
  24. Derrike Cope
  25. John Blankenship
  26. Brendan Gaughan
  27. Nur Ali
  28. Daryl Harr
  29. Cole Whitt
  30. Dexter Stacey
  31. Derek White
  32. Noel Dowler
  33. Jeremy Clements
  34. Kevin Lepage
  35. Morgan Shepherd
  36. Mike Harmon
  37. Erik Darnell
  38. J.J. Yeley
  39. Blake Koch
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Timmy Hill
  42. Chase Miller
  43. Tony Raines
John Bman
John Bman
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News