Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Texas: NASCAR green flag start time, pole, and starting lineup

The drivers are at Texas Motor Speedway for the AAA Texas 500. Jimmie Johnson is on the pole for the second week in a row, after winning from that same position, just last weekend at Martinsville.

Johnson is your points leader in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Title, leading
Brad Keselowski by 2 points. Keselowski will roll of the grid in eighth position. Keselowski was fastest in final place on Saturday with a speed of 184.300.

Texas is the third to last race of the 2012 NASCAR season. It is 501 miles, 334 laps around a 1.5 mile track.

NASCAR heads to Phoenix next weekend before ending their season at Homestead.

The races green flag start time is set for: 3:16pm EST.

Who else to watch at Texas? Greg Biffle and Matt Kenseth. Kenseth is the only driver to have a better average finish than Johnson at the 1.5 mile track. Biffle, on the other hand, won the Spring race.

I also would not count out Denny Hamlin, who had car trouble last weekend at Martinsville. The issues ended his chance of claiming the title. Hamlin has 8 top tens out of 14 starts and two wins at the track.

A.J Allmendinger, who is starting 26th is making his final start with Phoenix Racing in the No.51 Chevrolet. Regan Smith will take over starting next weekend at Phoenix.

Starting Lineup for today’s race at Texas:

  1. Jimmie Johnson – POINTS LEADER
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Clint Bowyer -26 points behind
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Trevor Bayne
  8. Brad Keselowski -2 points
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kasey Kahne -29 points behind
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Marcos Ambrose
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Kurt Busch
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Tony Stewart
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. AJ Allmendinger
  27. Paul Menard
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Bobby Labonte
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Scott Speed
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. David Ragan
  34. Mike Bliss
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Ryan Newman
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Reed Sorenson
  40. Dave Blaney
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Joe Nemechek

Recent News