Jimmie Johnson on pole at Texas, starting lineup for race

Jimmie Johnson, driver of the No.48 Lowes Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports won from the pole just last weekend at Martinsville. This weekend, he aims to do it again.


Johnson is a five time NASCAR Champion, and is looking for his sixth title this season. If he keeps doing what he is doing, surely he will be the one with the title come the final laps at  Homestead.

Johnson will start on the pole for the fourth time this season for the AAA Texas 500 on Sunday.

Texas, the eighth race in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Chase, is a track that treats Johnson well. In 18 races, Johnson has 13 top tens. He has won only once, but there is only one driver that has a better average finish than him. Matt Kenseth. Johnson’s average finish is 9.7 while Kenseth’s is 8.6.

Johnson edged out Texas Spring race winner, Greg Biffle by just 0.103 seconds with a speed of 191.076. As he did last weekend after he qualified, Johnson did not get out of the drivers seat of his #48 Chevy until qualifying was over. “I don’t know if it really works, but it kind of works,” he said. “I don’t believe it’s sitting in the race car, although it’s something to laugh at.”

Biffle, Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer and Martin Truex Jr. will fill out the top five.

Brad Keselowski, who is sitting second in the points a mere two points behind Johnson will start eighth.

A.J Allmendinger, who is making his fourth and last start this season for Phoenix Racing in the No.51 will start 26th. Next weekend at Phoenix, Regan Smith will take over and drive the last two races of the season.

Full Race Lineup for Sunday’s AAA Texas 500:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Trevor Bayne
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kasey Kahne
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Marcos Ambrose
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Kurt Busch
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Tony Stewart
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. AJ Allmendinger
  27. Paul Menard
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Bobby Labonte
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Scott Speed
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. David Ragan
  34. Mike Bliss
  35. Josh Wise
  36. Ryan Newman
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Reed Sorenson
  40. Dave Blaney
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Joe Nemechek

Recent News