Matt Kenseth wins at Kansas Speedway, full race results

Matt Kenseth won Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway, the sixth of ten races in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Chase. The race was caution-filled with drivers making contact with each other and the wall as a series of right front tires gave way, leading to a record number of 14 cautions.

The win was Kenseth’s second in the last three races and his third of the 2012 season. It was his first career win at Kansas, and 24th of his career.

Kenseth recovered from an incident in which the right front of his car made contact with the wall, he then pitted to repair the damage on lap 177.

Kansas was repaved following the April race, and at that time 17-20 degree progressive banking was added in the turns – leading to a lot of unknowns for the drivers this weekend.

Kasey Kahne started from the pole and finished in 4th position. He fell from second to sixth on the last caution when he cut off his No.5 Farmer’s Chevrolet to save fuel.

Danica Patrick and Landon Cassill had contact with each other on lap 155, during her interview we found out that it might of been… intentional.

Points leader Brad Keselowski finished in 8th position maintaining a 7 point lead over Jimmie Johnson. Martin Truex Jr. finished in second place followed by Paul Menard in third.

Next weekend the drivers head to Martinsville Speedway for the seventh race of the Chase.

Full Race Results from the Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway 2012:

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Paul Menard
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Tony Stewart
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Regan Smith
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Jeff Gordon
  11. Kevin Harvick
  12. Marcos Ambrose
  13. Denny Hamlin
  14. Carl Edwards
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Travis Kvapil
  18. Landon Cassill
  19. Joey Logano
  20. David Ragan
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Timmy Hill
  23. David Gilliland
  24. Mark Martin
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Sam Hornish Jr.
  27. Greg Biffle
  28. Jeff Burton
  29. Aric Almirola
  30. Ryan Newman
  31. Kyle Busch
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. Bobby Labonte
  34. Scott Speed
  35. AJ Allmendinger
  36. Mike Bliss
  37. Casey Mears
  38. Kelly Bires
  39. Dave Blaney
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Reed Sorenson
  42. J.J. Yeley
  43. Michael McDowell

Recent News