Timmy Hill has already won Rookie of the Year honors

Timmy Hill and Josh Wise are the only drivers who will compete for Sprint Cup Rookie of the Year honors. Neither driver will race in the Daytona 500 and it’s unclear how many starts Wise will make after his team merged with Hill’s.

Last year Hill won the Nationwise Series Rookie of the Year honors while driving the #15 Ford Mustang of Rick Ware Racing. While Ware will again provide a car at the Nationwide level for Hill, he also is giving the youngster a chance to compete at the Sprint Cup level.

Currently Hill’s website lists the April race at Martinsville as his first event at the Sprint Cup level though recent reports suggest that Hill will drive the #37 Ford at Phoenix.

With a lack of competition, Hill may have already won the title of Rookie of the Year if he simply manages to qualify for a few races. Hill’s team will be comprised much the same way as the previous two rookies teams were. Andy Lally and Kevin Conway drove for small organizations who struggled to stay inside the top-35 in owner points but managed to claim rookie honors due to a lack of competition.

Hill’s best finish last season at the Nationwide level was an 11th place run at Road America.

John Bman
John Bmanhttp://www.tireball.com
Founder and Owner of Tireball Sports.

Recent News