Ross Chastain wins Gateway Truck Series race, results

Ross Chastain won the Carshield 200 at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway.

Christian Eckes began the race on the pole after qualifying was cancelled. Eckes, driving the No. 51 truck of Kyle Busch Motorsports, ended up fifth after the first stage of the race. Grant Enfinger ended up winning the first stage after sneaking past Stewart Friesen.

Enfinger would use that advantage to win stage two holding off teammate Myatt Snider who was filling in for Johnny Sauter in the No. 13 ThorSport truck.

Eckes returned to the lead after pitstops as he took just two tires while Enfinger and others took four. Ross Chastain, who was searching for a win in order to make the truck series playoffs, would take fuel only on his final pitstop getting by Eckes in the process and setting up some late race drama.

Contact between Harrison Burton and Sheldon Creed resulted in Burton getting into the outside wall and a caution coming out. On the restart Chastain spun his tires but was able to stay ahead of Eckes and Todd Gilliland as the trucks raced single file.

The win is the second of the season for Chastain who saw a win at Iowa Speedway get erased after his truck was deemed to be too low. Gilliland would get past Eckes who was then turned by Friesen. Chastain would take the checkered flag under green to end the race.

Gateway Truck Series Results

  1. Ross Chastain
  2. Todd GIllialnd
  3. Stewart Friesen
  4. Chandler Smith
  5. Brett Moffitt
  6. Grant enfinger
  7. Sheldon Creed
  8. Ben Rhodes
  9. Matt Crafton
  10. Myatt Snider
  11. Austin Hill
  12. Anthony Alfredo
  13. Kyle Benjamin
  14. Christain Eckes
  15. Tyler Dippel
  16. Harrison Burton
  17. Austin Wayne Self
  18. Jordan Anderson
  19. Gus Dean
  20. Specner Boyd
  21. Jesse Little
  22. Bryant Barnhill
  23. Josh Reaume
  24. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  25. Norm Benning
  26. Daniel Sasnett
  27. Natalie Decker
  28. Camden Murphy
  29. Cody McMahan
  30. Tyler Ankrum
  31. Lou Goss
  32. Gregory Rayl


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here