Ryan Blaney on pole for NASCAR Cup race at Texas, AAA Texas 500 qualifying results

Ryan Blaney claimed the pole on Friday for the second race of the round of eight in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs.

Joining Blaney on the front row at the 1.5-mile oval will be Clint Bowyer. This is the third pole of the year for Blaney who was also the fastest in Friday’s Cup practice session.

Sunday’s running of the AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway will air on NBCSN and the NBC Sports App beginning at 3:00 pm ET. The green flag is expected to waive at 3:16 pm ET. The AAA Texas 500 is scheduled to go 334 laps which equals to 501 miles.

Kyle Busch is the most recent MENCS winner at Texas while Kevin Harvick went to victory lane here last fall.

MENCS AAA Texas 500 Qualifying Results

  1. Ryan Blaney
  2. Clint Bowyer
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Joey Logano
  9. William Byron
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Paul Menard
  12. Erik Jones
  13. Martin Truex Jr.
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Trevor Bayne
  16. Chase Elliott
  17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  18. Alex Bowman
  19. Daniel Suarez
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. Kyle Larson
  23. Jimmie Johnson
  24. Ty Dillon
  25. AJ Allmendinger
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. David Ragan
  28. Regan Smith
  29. Michael McDowell
  30. Bubba Wallace
  31. Matt DiBenedetto
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Ross Chastain
  34. Parker Kligerman
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. Kyle Weatherman
  37. Corey LaJoie
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Joey Gase
  40. David Starr

Failing to qualify was Timmy Hill.