Maddux, Glavine, Thomas elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas have all earned election into Baseball’s Hall of Fame.

While that trio of players earned election, Craig Biggio missed out failing to reach the required 75 percent threshold by just .2 percent or two votes.

Maddux had 355 career wins and a 3.16 ERA over 23 seasons. He won four consecuive Cy Young awards and a record 18 Gold Gloves while pitching for the Chicago Cubs, Atlanta Braves, Los Angeles Dodgers and San Diego Padres.

Joining Maddux will be longtime teammate Tom Glavine. Glavine also topped 300 wins finishing with 305 while earning two Cy Young awards and earning ten All-Star selections.

Frank Thomas was a two-time AL MVP and finished his career with a .301 average 521 home runs and 1,704 RBI. He spent 19 seasons at the major league level with the Chicago White Sox, Toronto Blue Jays and Oakland Raiders.

Amazingly Maddux received only 97.2 percent of the vote. The record was set in 1992 with Tom Seaver earning 98.84 percent.

This marks the first time since 1999 that baseball writers elected three first ballot ball of famers.

Sign Up For Our E-mail List

  • MLB Stories Delivered To Your Mailbox
  • Trending News from NFL, NASCAR, WWE & More
  • Easy Access to Return to Our Site

Get e-mails from Tireball Sports now!