NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas: Drivers, Format, Start Time

The annual NASCAR All-Star race will take place at the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday night. Six stages make up the 100-lap race where cautions will not count towards the lap total. When the race is over one diver will walk away with an extra $1 million.

NASCAR All-Star Race Breakdown
Start Time: 
Sunday June 13 at 8 pm ET
FOX Sports
 6 stages; 100 total laps. More info below
$1 million to the winner

How do you get in the All-Star Race?

Fans will want to know exactly who will be in the race. A slue of drivers are in the All-Star race thanks to wins over the past season and a half. Three others will earn entry by way of the qualifying race.  The qualifying race will be made up of three segments (20 laps, 20 laps, 10 laps) with the winner of each moving into the All-Star race. The highest finishing driver in the most-popular non-winning driver fan vote will also make the race.

Drivers in All-Star Race: Christopher Bell, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, William Byron, Cole Custer, Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Michael McDowell, Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr.

Drivers trying to make the All-Star Race via the qualifying race include: Tyler Reddick, Chris Buescher, Matt DiBenedetto, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ross Chastain, Bubba Wallace, Daniel Suarez, Erik Jones, Chase Briscoe, Aric Almirola, Corey LaJoie, Anthony Alfredo, Quin Houff, James Davison, Josh Bilicki, Austin Cindric, Cody Ware, BJ McLeod, Justin Haley, Garrett Smithley, Timmy Hill, David Starr

All-Star Race Format

·      A random draw has determined the starting lineup for the All-Star race. Kyle Larson is on the pole. Drivers who earn entry via the qualifying race start 18, 19, and 20th while the fan vote driver starts 21st.

·      After the first stage ends a random draw will invent between eight and 12 of the top finishers. 

·      The entire field will be inverted after the second stage

·      The top cars in the third stage will be scrambled in a random draw before the fourth stage. This could include eight to 12 cars.

·      The start of the fifth stage will be made up of the average finishing of drivers from the first four stages.

· The finishing order from the fifth stage determines the start of the sixth.

Comments Closed