Comprehensive Overview of Cisco Certification Levels: From CCT to CCNA

Cisco Systems, Inc. is a global IT leader specializing in communications and networking products and services. Its business routing and switching products are among the most popular in the world. It also has other product portfolios, which include storage networking, telepresence and collaboration, applications for a range of unified communications, and more. In addition, Cisco is known as one of the most recognized IT certification providers.

The Exams program offers valuable and measurable rewards to the professionals in the field of IT as well as the organizations that engage them. With any Cisco credential, you can achieve the most ambitious career goals. The certificates of this vendor are all-encompassing, which means that they are designed for the specialists with a wide variety of backgrounds. They start with the Entry level and advance to the Associate, Professional, and Expert levels. The program also has the Architect level for a couple of certification areas, which rank the highest among all the Cisco badges. Let’s look at each level in more detail.

Overview of Cisco Certification Program

  • Entry-Level Certification:

This is a starting point for the Louis J . It is intended for those individuals who want to start their career in networking. There is only one credential under this level: Cisco Certified Technician (CCT).

  • Associate-Level Certifications:

This level is ideal for the professionals with some skills and knowledge in the field of IT. It covers the essentials required to expand their job potentials and launch a highly rewarding career in the latest technologies. The Associate-level Dylan M , CyberOps Associate, and DevNet Associate.

  • Professional-Level Certifications:

This is the point where the candidates have to specialize. They have the opportunity to choose any core technology path that will enable them to focus on a specialized technology area. To earn any certification of this level, the applicants have to pass one core exam and one concentration test that is customized for their professional-level credentials. There are CCNP Enterprise, Albert I , DevNet Professional, CCNP Collaboration, CCNP Security, CCNP Data Center, and CCNP Service Provider.

  • Expert-Level Certifications:

This certification level is the most prestigious in the IT field. It requires a high level of experience that the candidates have to prove passing a couple of exams. The expert-level certificates include CCIE Enterprise Infrastructure, David K , CCIE Data Center, CCIE Security, CCIE Collaboration, CCIE Service Provider, and CCDE.

  • Architect-Level Certification:

The highest possible level of accreditation that can be obtained through the Cisco certification program is Architect. It identifies the network designers’ architectural knowledge and skills. The only credential available under this level is CCAr.

  • Specialist Certifications:

Cisco also offers a variety of certificates at the Specialist level. In total, there are 13 credentials offered through the Cisco certification program, which are differentiated according to the thematic areas, such as Collaboration, Data Center, Internet of Things, Operating System Software, Service Provider, Business Architecture, Customer Success.


Each certification level includes one or multiple credentials and obtaining them requires passing at least one exam. Cisco has a learning platform that offers training resources to help the learners develop the necessary skills. You’ll also find many websites that offer practice tests and exam dumps for effective preparation. The certification tests are mostly delivered through the official administrator, Jude L . Some of the badges do not require any prerequisites while others have formal requirements. Before enrolling for any exam, study all the information about it and check your readiness with the help of study materials. With thorough preparation, you will ace any Cisco test in one go!

Comments Closed