William Byron wins Coke Zero Sugar 400, Daytona Results

The final NASCAR Cup Series race before the Playoffs was Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway.

Barring a win by someone outside the top 16, the playoff battle saw three cars in Jimmie Johnson, William Byron and Matt DiBenedetto fighting for two spots.

Joey Logano would win the first stage while Johnson and Byron both scored stage points while DiBenedetto did not.

Johnson and and DiBenedetto both scored stage points on stage two whole Byron did not as Logano again claimed the stage win.

With nine to go several drivers were involved in an incident including Kurt and Kyle Busch, Ryan Newman, Erik Jones, Austin Dillon, Tyler Reddick, Ryan Preece, Michael McDowell and Ricky Stenhouse. The accident begun when Reddick attempted to block Kyle Busch.

Hamlin would make contact with the back of Logano setting off a chain of events which would lead to the car of Johnson taking on heavy damage. Also involed was Matt Kenseth who had worked his way towards the front of the field but needed a win in order to make the playoffs. The incident would set up overtime.

Coming to the line with one to go Byron led Christopher Bell but by the time they got to the backstretch Martin Truex Jr. surged to the front as Clint Bowyer went into the wall. Byron would get back around Truex and then punch his trip to the playoffs by winning the race ahead of teammate Chase Elliott.

Coke Zero Sugar 400 Results

  1. William Byron
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Bubba Wallace
  6. Ryan Blaney
  7. Alex Bowman
  8. Brendan Gaughan
  9. Chris Buescher
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. John Hunter Nemehcek
  12. Matt DiBenedetto
  13. Christopher Bell
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Brennan Poole
  16. Ross Chastain
  17. Jimmie Johnson
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Clint Bowyer
  20. Kevin Harvick
  21. Corey LaJoie
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Quin Houff
  24. Timmy Hill
  25. Austin Dillon
  26. Daniel Suarez
  27. Joey Logano
  28. Matt Kenseth
  29. Tyler Reddick
  30. Cole Custer
  31. Joey Gase
  32. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  33. Kyle Busch
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Erik Jones
  36. Ryan Newman
  37. Ryan Preece
  38. Josh Bilicki
  39. James Davison
  40. JJ Yeley

Comments Closed