Sato wins second Indy 500, results

The first Indianapolis 500 without fans took place more than three months after it was originally planned. Marco Andretti became the first Andretti to be on the pole for the race in 33 years but he would not even lead past the first turn of the race as Scott Dixon surged to the front on the opening lap of the race.

Ed Carpenter would have early trouble after being forced into the wall. He would bring his car down pit road as the race remained green. James Davidson’s right front tire would catch fire bringing out the first caution on lap 6 of the race. The caution would bring the back of the pack down pit road for service while the leaders stayed out. A crash from Marcus Ericsson would bring out the second caution of the day.

Just before halfway Connor Daly spun during a restart while Oliver Askew locked you the brakes and turned into the inside wall hitting hard before coming back up the track and making additional contact with Daly.

A pit road penalty for unsafe release would place Alexander Rossi back in the field. After a surge to pass several cats, Rossi would get lose and hit the wall ending his day on lap 144.

Spencer Pigot would spin and hit the area just in front of pit road bringing out a caution for

2020 Indy 500 Results

  1. Takuma Sato
  2. Scott Dixon
  3. Graham Rahal
  4. Santino Ferrucci
  5. Josef Newgarden
  6. Pato O’Ward
  7. James Hinchcliffe
  8. Colton Herta
  9. Jack Harvey
  10. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  11. Helio Castroneves
  12. Felix Rosenqvist
  13. Marco Andretti
  14. Will Power
  15. Zach Veach
  16. JR Hildebrand
  17. Max Chilton
  18. Charlie Kimball
  19. Tony Kanaan
  20. Rinus VeeKay
  21. Fernando Alonso
  22. Simon Pagenaud
  23. Ben Hanley
  24. Sage Karam
  25. Spencer Pigot
  26. Ed Carpenter
  27. Alexander Rossi
  28. Alex Palou
  29. Conor Daly
  30. Oliver Askew
  31. Dalton Kellett
  32. Marcus Ericsson
  33. James Davison

Comments Closed